UTSI students continue AIAA conference winning streak

ber and Charles Haddad won best papers in the Masters Division at the to scholarly journals as 63rd American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Southeastern Regional Student Conference.

The conference, held at Cape Canaveral, Fla., was attended by several universities from the southeastern region.

winning streak, with five into several applications, best paper awards, for the graduate students of professor Joe Majdalani, Arnold Chair of Excellence and professor of mechanical, aerospace and biomedical engineering.

The 5-for-5 award capture is a true reflection of the outstanding performance of the students

their research topics. The student competition in papers will be submitted suggested by the judging panel.

Barber's award winning paper entitled, "Bidirectional Helical Motion in Tapered Rocket Chambers," was coauthored with his advisor, Majdalani. His paper introduces a framework that can provide im-This marks a three-year portant physical insight such as liquid rocket engines, and explain the motion of conically-shaped tornadoes and tropical cyclones.

> Barber, a native of Nashville, is pursuing his master's and doctorate degrees in aerospace engineering. He will receive a paid trip to participate in

UTSI students Tim Bar- and the significance of next year's international Texas.

> Haddad won second place with his paper entitled, "On the Sidewall Boundary Layer of Transverse Waves in Simulated Liquid Rocket Engines." His paper, also coauthored with Majdalani, investigates the boundary layer development due to transverse waves in liquid rocket engines.

Haddad is from Beirut. Lebanon and is pursuing a master's degree in aerospace engineering.

The awards were presented by Dr. Robert Youngquist, guest speaker and lead scientist of the Kennedy Space Center Applied Physics Laboratory. (Information provided by UTSI)



The UTSI award recipients in the Masters Division of the 63rd AIAA Southeastern Regional student conference are pictured above, left to right: Timothy A. Barber (First Place), Dr. Joseph Majdalani (faculty advisor), and Charles T. Haddad. (Photo provided)